Investment Portal of the Arctic Zone of the Russian Federation
The Arctic: challenge accepted! New economic policy from 2020
The Arctic is the future! Benefits and state support for investors
Discover the Arctic! If it works here — it'll work anywhere

The Arctic zone today

What is the Russian Arctic zone?

The Arctic Zone of the Russian Federation (AZRF) is the northern end of the European and Asian parts of the Russian Federation, located along the shores of the seas in the Arctic Ocean: Barents, Kara, Laptev, East Siberian and Chukchi. It is Russia's longest maritime boundary.

About the Arctic Investor
2,5 million

Population of the Arctic Zone of the Russian Federation

5 million sq. km

Total space occupied by Russian dominions in the Arctic

9 regions

Making up the Arctic Zone of the Russian Federation

Discover more than the tip of the iceberg:

discover the entire Arctic!


See all

Northeast Passage

Read more
The North keeps its treasures under a layer of ice and snow
NEP cargo shipping volumes in 2019
31,5 mln t
Plans to grow cargo shipping volumes by 2024
80 mln t
NEP cargo shipping volumes to reach by 2035
160 mln t


See all
22 April 2024 Mishustin: Enhancing the Arctic weather satellite group will improve the monitoring of the North Sea Route

According to the Prime Minister, this is unprecedented.

19 April 2024 Andrey Chibis has proposed prioritising national projects for the Arctic Zone of the Russian Federation

The governor of the Murmansk Region suggested to Vladimir Putin that national projects should be prioritised.

19 April 2024 Three subsidised coastal voyages along the North Sea Route are planned for 2024

From 2022, the list of ports where subsidised ship calls are possible has been expanded from 4 to 14.

19 April 2024 Trutnev: The feasibility of launching an adventure competition in the Arctic will be examined

The competition in the Far East will be conducted in three categories.

18 April 2024 Russian Academy of Sciences expedition has published books in four rare languages spoken by the peoples of the North

These books were presented in Nanai, Dolgan, Sami and Tofalar languages.

17 April 2024 Head of the Komi Republic has stated two more districts of the republic may be included in the Arctic zone of the Russian Federation

These are Pechora and Izhma.



Read more