Investment Portal of the Arctic Zone of the Russian Federation

List of facilities for the northern supply programme's transport and logistics infrastructure has been approved by the Government

Moving forward, the list is expected to be expanded with new facilities as proposals are agreed upon by regions and relevant federal executive authorities.

12 February 2024

The Government is persistently working towards ensuring a steady supply of essential goods and food to residents of the Far North and similar areas. A list of facilities that will constitute the core network of the northern supply's transport and logistics infrastructure has been approved. This order was signed by Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin, as reported by the press service of the Russian Federation Government.

The list encompasses federal and local roads, airports, railway stations and sea and river ports across 23 regions of the nation. These include the republics of Altai, Buryatia, Karelia, Komi, Sakha (Yakutia), and Tyva, along with Transbaikal, Kamchatka, Krasnoyarsk, Perm, Primorsky and Khabarovsk Territories, and Amur, Arkhangelsk, Irkutsk, Magadan, Murmansk, Omsk, Sakhalin and Tyumen Regions, as well as the Nenets, Khanty-Mansi and Chukotka Autonomous Areas.

A resolution is also in the works to approve the rules for special marking of first and second category goods, which will facilitate their identification and prioritised delivery to the Far North and equivalent regions. This pertains to cargoes containing food, petroleum products and other essential commodities.

Northern supply refers to a suite of actions and financial strategies aimed at ensuring a steady and uninterrupted supply of crucial goods to areas classified as Far North and similar regions. The transportation of goods within the northern importation zone is subject to several restrictions due to challenging climatic conditions. The supply of goods is carried out via air, river and sea transport, including through the North Sea Route.


See all


Read more